Though the U.S. House of Representatives voted by a clear majority to pass a debt-ceiling compromise Monday night, Maryland’s eight lawmakers were collectively less decisive, splitting right down the middle on the controversial measure.

The chamber’s 269 yes votes included Reps. Roscoe Bartlett (R), Chris Van Hollen (D), Steny Hoyer (D) and Dutch Ruppersberger (D). Among the 169 opponents were Reps. Elijah Cummings (D), Donna Edwards (D), John Sarbanes (D) and Andy Harris (R).

Cummings and Edwards are members of the Congressional Black Caucus, which voted against the bill en masse because they believe its funding cuts will hurt minorities and the poor. It’s rare that any CBC members are on the same side of a close vote as Harris, one of the House’s most conservative members.