Maryland on Thursday received a presidential disaster declaration for six jurisdictions that incurred significant damages as a result of the derecho storms that swept across the region in late June.

As a result of the declaration, which was requested by Gov. Martin O’Malley (D), the federal government may reimburse state and local governments for up to 75 percent of the costs associated with their response and clean-up efforts.

Similar declarations were previously granted to Virginia and the District.

The Maryland jurisdictions included in the presidential declaration are Baltimore city and Calvert, Charles, Kent, Montgomery and St. Mary’s counties. Maryland emergency management officials said other counties could be added later.