(David Duprey/Associated Press)

On Wednesday morning, the legislation was “laid over,” a common procedural move to allow more time to draft proposed amendments.

Lawmakers expect a very close vote by Friday on the bill sponsored by Gov. Martin O’Malley (D). It will take 71 votes to pass in the 141-member House.

On Tuesday, a pair of House panels jointly voted 25 to 18 to send the bill to the floor. If passed, Maryland would join the District and seven other states in allowing gay nuptials.

Here’s a look at how members of the two House panels voted on Tuesday:


Peter A. Hammen (D-Baltimore), chair: Yea

Shane E. Pendergrass (D-Howard), vice chair: Yea

Eric M. Bromwell (D-Baltimore County): Yea

Robert A. Costa (R-Anne Arundel): Yea

Bonnie L. Cullison (D-Montgomery): Yea

John P. Donoghue (D-Washington): Nay

Donald B. Elliott (R-Carroll): Nay

William J. Frank (R-Baltimore County): Nay

James W. Hubbard (D-Prince George’s): Yea

A. Wade Kach (R-Baltimore County): Nay

Ariana B. Kelly (D-Montgomery): Yea

Nicholaus R. Kipke (R-Anne Arundel): Nay

Susan W. Krebs (R-Carroll): Nay

Patrick L. McDonough (R-Baltimore County): Absent

Dan K. Morhaim (D-Baltimore County): Yea

Peter F. Murphy (D-Charles): Yea

Shirley Nathan-Pulliam (D-Baltimore County): Yea

Nathaniel T. Oaks (D-Baltimore): Yea

Joseline A. Pena-Melnyk (D-Prince George’s): Yea

Justin D. Ready (R-Carroll): Nay

Kirill Reznik (D-Montgomery): Yea

Shawn Z. Tarrant (D-Baltimore): Yea

Veronica L. Turner (D-Prince George’s): Yea


Joseph F. Vallario Jr. (D-Prince George’s), chair: Nay

Kathleen M. Dumais (D-Montgomery), vice chair: Yea

Tiffany T. Alston (D-Prince George’s): Nay

Curtis S. Anderson (D-Baltimore): Yea

Sam Arora (D-Montgomery): Abstain

Jill P. Carter (D-Baltimore): Yea

Luke H. Clippinger (D-Baltimore): Yea

John W. E. Cluster Jr. (R-Baltimore County): Nay

Frank M. Conaway Jr. (D-Baltimore): Yea

Don H. Dwyer Jr. (R-Anne Arundel): Nay

Michael J. Hough (R-Frederick): Nay

Kevin Kelly (D-Allegany): Nay

Susan C. Lee (D-Montgomery): Yea

Susan K. McComas (R-Harford): Nay

Michael A. McDermott (R-Worcester): Nay

Keiffer J. Mitchell Jr. (D-Baltimore): Yea

Neil C. Parrott (R-Washington): Nay

Luiz R. S. Simmons (D-Montgomery): Yea

Michael D. Smigiel Sr. (R-Cecil): Nay

Kriselda Valderrama (D-Prince George’s): Yea

Geraldine Valentino-Smith (D-Prince George’s): Nay

Jeffrey D. Waldstreicher (D-Montgomery): Yea