The Nationals released the 52 players they will invite to their Instructional League, which will take place Sept. 16 through Oct. 12. Some notable names:

LHP Jack McGeary, 22: The Nationals drafted McGeary in 2007 and gave him a $1.8 million signing bonus as part of a unique arrangement that allowed him to attend Stanford as he pitched professionally. He graduated from Stanford in the spring and returned from Tommy John surgery this year only to suffer an oblique injury, which limited him to five games in the Gulf Coast League.

RHP Elvin Ramirez, 23: The Nationals chose Elvin Ramirez in the Rule 5 draft, but he missed the entire year after undergoing shoulder surgery.

RHP Wirkin Estevez, 19: He had a 4.01 ERA and struck out 55 in 67 1/3 innings at short-season Class A Auburn.

RHP Taylor Hill, 22: Last night, Hill struck out eight and allowed one hit and one walk over five innings in Auburn’s playoff win over Vermont.

LHP Matt Purke, 21: The Nationals signed Purke to a $4 million major league contract after picking him in the third round out of TCU.

LHP Robbie Ray, 19: After signing for a large bonus in 2010, Ray made his full-season debut and had a 3.13 ERA with 95 strikeouts in 89 innings at Class A Hagerstown

RHP Alex Meyer, 21: He signed for $2 million after the Nationals drafted him with the 23rd overall pick this year.

RHP A.J. Cole, 19: He signed for $2 million in 2010 after the Nationals picked him in the fourth round. Cole struck out 108 batters in 89 innings at Hagerstown while compiling a 4.04 ERA.

C Raudy Read, 17: The Nationals signed Read out of the Dominican Republic in January for $130,000.

IF Anthony Rendon, 21: Rendon was the sixth overall pick and signed a four-year, $7.2 million major league contract.

OF Brian Goodwin, 20: The Nationals selected Goodwin with the 34th overall pick and signed him to a $3 million bonus.

IF Zach Walters, 22: The Nationals acquired Walters at the trade deadline in the deal that sent Jason Marquis to the Diamondbacks.

And here’s the rest of the roster:


Gregori Baez, 19

Paul Demny, 19

Brian Dupra, 22

Pedro Encarnacion, 20

Christian Garcia, 26

Matt Grace, 23

Greg Holt, 22

Nathan Karns, 23

Chris McKenzie, 21

Blake Monar, 22

Ivan Pineyro, 19

Manny Rodriguez, 22

Cameron Selik, 24

Matthew Swynenberg, 22

Kylin Turnbull, 21


David Freitas, 22

Sandy Leon, 22

Cole Leonida, 22

Adrian Nieto, 21

Pedro Severino, 18


Justin Bloxom, 22

Diomedes Eusebio, ?

Blake Kelson, 22

Jeff Kobernus, 23

Estarlin Martinez, 19

Jason Martinson, 22

Bryce Ortega, 22

Arialdi Peguero, 18

Adrian Sanchez, 21

Matthew Skole, 22

Steven Souza, 22

Deion Williams, 18


Billy Burns, 22

Kevin Keyes, 22

Narciso Mesa, 19

Randolph Oduber, 22

Eury Perez, 21

Caleb Ramsey, 22

Michael Taylor, 20