On the deadline to prevent minor leaguers from being lost via the Rule 5 draft, the Nationals added five players to their 40-man roster, including highly regarded catching prospect Derek Norris and 2010 Nationals minor league player of the year Tyler Moore, a slugging first baseman.

The Nationals also added speedy outfielder Eury Perez and catcher Jhonatan Solano to the 40-man roster from within their minor league system. They also re-reclaimed reliever Cole Kimball from the Blue Jays two days after Toronto claimed him. The moves give them 37 players on the roster.

The Nationals made the moves now because today was the deadline to protect players who would have been eligible. Players drafted from high school or signed prior to their 20th birthday can be taken in the Rule 5 draft if not added to a team’s 40-man roster after their fifth professional season. For players drafted out of college, the limit is four professional seasons.