The Nationals will make their first round of cuts today after their pregame workout, sending somewhere between seven and 10 players to minor league camp, Manager Davey Johnson said. That’s a pretty sizeable chunk of the Nationals’ 54-man camp.

For the game, the Nationals will be using something pretty close their opening day lineup. While Michael Morse is returning to the lineup as the designated hitter today, the order of the first six batters will probably be what the Nationals use once the season begins, with Jayson Werth hitting sixth. Substitute Wilson Ramos for Jesus Flores and put Rick Ankiel batting eighth, and this is a good bet for the Nats’ opening day order. After Manager Davey Johnson looked at the lineup, he smiled and said, “I don’t know, whatever you want to think.”


1. Ian Desmond, SS

2. Danny Espinosa, 2B

3. Ryan Zimmerman, 3B

4. Michael Morse, DH

5. Adam LaRoche, 1B

6. Jayson Werth, CF

7. Jesus Flores, C

8. Roger Bernadina, RF

9. Corey Brown, LF