“To have a team that’s so good, that has so much talent, we can win a lot of ballgames,” second baseman Danny Espinosa said before the Nationals’ exhibition against the Red Sox yesterday. “We should win a lot of ballgames. It’s not a time of building anymore. It’s not a time for young guys, and we need to step into our path. We need to start winning now. There’s too much talent here to lose.”

The Nationals yesterday, of course, took the final, surprising measures to set their opening day roster. With four players on the disabled list, and none for the significantly long term, the roster will change soon, and perhaps often. What they expect of themselves will not.

Below, in one place, is the Nationals’ opening day roster. First, here’s a set of links to The Post’s Baseball Preview Section:


The Nationals suddenly have baseball people — including Commissioner Bud Selig — expecting a lot out of them this year.

Boz writes the Nationals’ rotation will make all the difference.

Sheinin wonders if the Phillies are still the team to beat in the NL East.

An interactive database of the contract status of every team’s top three starters.

Stephen Strasburg, Gio Gonzalez and Jordan Zimmermann will try to join some of the all-time stable pitching trios.

Sheinin makes his predictions. (By the way, I’d take Arizona over Detroit in the World Series.)


Stammen, Mattheus make the Nats

Lannan told of demotion in third inning

Thoughts on the rotation shake-up

Lannan optioned, Detwiler to rotation

Nats-Sox play-by-play

Storen shooting for mid-April

Davey recalles Ted Williams

Nats’ lineup

Lombardozzi, Carroll reflect

As promised, here’s the roster:


1. Stephen Strasburg

2. Gio Gonzalez

3. Jordan Zimmermann

4. Edwin Jackson

5. Ross Detwiler


6. Brad Lidge

7. Henry Rodriguez

8. Tyler Clippard

9. Sean Burnett

10. Tom Gorzelanny

11. Ryan Mattheus

12. Craig Stammen


13. Adam LaRoche

14. Danny Espinosa

15. Ian Desmond

16. Ryan Zimmerman


17. Jayson Werth

18. Roger Bernadina

19. Mark DeRosa


20. Wilson Ramos

21. Jesus Flores


22. Chad Tracy

23. Xavier Nady

24. Steve Lombardozzi

25. Brett Carroll