With Paul Maholm starting for the Pirates, Michael Morse will receive his second start since May 3, and Laynce Nix will be on the bench after 11 consecutive starts. Wilson Ramos will bat cleanup. He gets his second start batting fourth, and he’s the only rookie in the majors this season to hit cleanup.

The Nats are 3-6 this year against left-handed starters.


1. Roger Bernadina, CF

2. Ian Desmond, SS

3. Jayson Werth, RF

4. Wilson Ramos, C

5. Adam LaRoche, 1B

6. Michael Morse, LF

7. Danny Espinosa, 2B

8. Jerry Hairston, 3B

9. John Lannan, SP


1. Andrew McCutheon, CF

2. Jose Tabata, LF

3. Neil Walker, 2B

4. Matt Diaz, RF

5. Steve Pearce, 1B

6. Brandon Wood, 3B

7. Chris Snyder, C

8. Ronny Cedeno, SS

9. Paul Maholm, SP