After their stirring win last night, the Nationals will send Jordan Zimmermann to the mound against the Padres’ woeful offense, a mismatch if there ever was one. Tim Stauffer, who has emerged as a solid starter, will pitchy for San Diego. Rick Ankiel will get his first start since returning from the disabled list, as Roger Bernadina will sit for the first time since he joined the Nationals.

Also, Collin Balester is here warming up in the outfield. Until the Nationals call up a starter to replace Tom Gorzelanny, they’ll use Balester as an extra reliever.


1. Rick Ankiel, CF

2. Ian Desmond, SS

3. Jayson Werth, RF

4. Laynce Nix, LF

5. Michael Morse, 1B

6. Danny Espinosa, 2B

7. Ivan Rodriguez, C

8. Jerry Hairston, 3B

9. Jordan Zimmermann, SP


1. Eric Patterson, RF

2. Jason Bartlett, SS

3. Ryan Ludwick, LF

4. Brad Hawpe, 1B

5. Chase Headley, 3B

6. Blake Tekotte, CF

7. Kyle Phillips, C

8. Logan Forsythe, 2B

9. Tim Stauffer, SP