WASHINGTON, D.C., MARCH 17, 2014: Early voting at One Judiciary Square. (Photo by Astrid Riecken For The Washington Post )

Below are The Post’s endorsements for 2014 elections in the District of Columbia, Maryland and Virginia. Polls are open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. in the District and Maryland, and 6 a.m. to 7 p.m. in Virginia. Candidates in uncontested races do not appear in the list below. To find your polling place and see a sample ballot, visit the websites of the board of elections for the District, Maryland or Virginia.

District of Columbia


Muriel Bowser (D)


Eleanor Holmes Norton (D)

Attorney General

Karl Racine (D)

D.C. Council

Chairman: Phil Mendelson (D)

At large (two seats): Courtney R. Snowden (I), Robert White (I)

Board of Education

Ward 1: Laura Wilson Phelan

Ward 3: Tricia Braun

Ward 6: Joe Weedon

Ballot initiative

Initiative 71, on the legalization of marijuana: No



Anthony Brown (D)

Attorney General

Brian Frosh (D)


Peter Franchot (D)

U.S. House of Representatives

4th District: Donna Edwards (D)

5th District: Steny Hoyer (D)

6th District: John K. Delaney (D)

8th District: Chris Van Hollen (D)

Ballot questions

Question 1, on the Transportation Trust Fund: Yes

Montgomery County

County Executive

Isiah “Ike” Leggett (D)

State’s Attorney

John McCarthy (D)

Board of Education

At-large: Jill Ortman-Fouse

District 1: Judy Docca

District 3: Patricia O’Neill

District 5: Mike Durso

Maryland State Senate

District 14: Frank Howard (R)

District 15: Brian J. Feldman (D)

Maryland State House

District 14 (three seats): Anne R. Kaiser (D), Eric G. Luedtke (D), Craig J. Zucker (D)

District 15 (three seats): Kathleen M. Dumais (D), Aruna Miller (D), David Fraser-Hidalgo (D)

District 16 (three seats): Bill Frick (D), Marc Korman (D), Rose Li (R)

District 19 (three seats): Benjamin F. Kramer (D), Bonnie L. Cullison (D), Maricé Morales (D)

District 20 (three seats): Sheila E. Hixson (D), Will Smith (D), Dan Robinson (Green)

County Council

At-large: Sheldon “Shelly” Skolnick (R), Nancy Floreen (D), George Leventhal (D), Marc Elrich (D)

District 2: Craig Rice (D)

District 4: Nancy Navarro (D)

Circuit Court Judgeships: Nelson W. Rupp Jr.Joan E. RyonGary E. BairDaniel Patrick Connell

Prince George’s County

Board of Education

District 2: Lupi Grady

District 3: Dinora A. Hernandez

District 6: Carolyn M. Boston

District 9: Sonya Williams

Maryland State Senate

District 26: C. Anthony Muse (D)

Maryland House of Delegates

District 22 (Three seats): Tawanna P. Gaines (D), Anne Healey (D), Alonzo T. Washington (D)

District 23A: Geraldine Valentino-Smith (D)

District 23B (Two seats): Marvin E. Holmes, Jr. (D), no other endorsement

District 24 (Three seats): Erek Barron (D), Carolyn J.B. Howard (D), Michael L. Vaughn (D)

Ballot questions

Question J, on extending county council and executive term limits: Yes


U.S. Senate

Mark Warner (D)

U.S. House of Representatives

District 8: Don Beyer (D)

District 10: No endorsement

District 11: Gerald E. Connolly (D)

Arlington County

County Board

John Vihstadt (I)

School Board

Barbara J. Kanninen