Back to previous page

Romney rolls out Reaganites

By ,

Mitt Romney might not be at the top of national polls, but he has certainly been the leader in grabbing endorsements.

Jim Cole


Republican presidential candidate Mitt Romney is starting to open up. For the past year, the former Massachusetts governor has emphasized his business background.

Last week it was Dan Quayle (establishment), this week it was Christine O’Donnell (tea party) and Thursday Romney rolled out a laundry list of former Reagan staffers who will be part of his Reaganites for Romney team (wonder if Jon M. Huntsman Jr. will ever sign on?)

Meantime, the Democratic National Committee sent out this reminder from the Romney quote files, when Romney was running to unseat Ted Kennedy: “Look, I was an independent during Reagan/Bush, I’m not trying to return to Reagan/Bush.”

Very long list after the jump:

Members of Reaganites For Romney:

Ambassador Gerald P. Carmen – Ronald Reagan 1980 Campaign; Administrator of the U.S. General Services Administration from 1981-1984; U.S. Ambassador to the United Nations in Geneva 1984-1986

Attorney General William Barr – Domestic Policy Staff 1982-1983

Lee Casey – Office of Legal Policy 1986-1990

Jimmy Gurulé – Assistant United States Attorney, Deputy Chief of the Major Narcotics Section (Los Angeles) 1985-1989

William Kilberg – President of White House Fellows 1982-1983; Appointed by Reagan to Chair of White House Fellowships in 1983

Raymond Ludwiszewski – Special Counsel to Assistant Attorney General for the Environment and Natural Resources Division 1985-1987; Associate Deputy Attorney General 1986-1991

Judge Michael McConnell – Assistant to the Solicitor General; Member of the Presidential Intelligence Oversight Committee 1988-1990

John McGinnis – Office of Legal Counsel 1985-1987; Deputy Assistant Attorney General 1987-1991

David Rivkin, Jr. – Legal Advisor to the Counsel to the VP; Deputy Director, Office of Legal Policy 1987-1993; Associate General Counsel of the Department of Energy; Associate White House Counsel

Jay Stephens – Principal Assistant Deputy Attorney General (DOJ); Assistant US Attorney; Assistant Watergate Prosecutor 1973-1986; Deputy White House Counsel 1986 – 1988; US Attorney for the District of Columbia 1988-1993

Ambassador Rich Williamson – Assistant Secretary of State for International Organization Affairs 1988-1989; Special Assistant to the President and Deputy to the White House Chief of Staff 1981; Assistant to the President for Intergovernmental Affairs, the White House 1981-83; US Ambassador to the International Atomic Energy Agency and the UN Offices in Vienna, Austria 1983-85

Fred Cooper (GA) – Elected Chairman of the Republican Party of Georgia in 1981; Raised money during the 1980 campaign and was on the 1984 Georgia Finance Committee

Marty Connors (AL) – 1980 Communications Director for the Republican Party of Alabama; 1984 Executive Director of the Alabama Republican Party and oversaw the Alabama Reagan re-elect

Attorney General Bill Schuette (MI) – Elected in 1984, served as Member of Congress during the second Reagan administration.

Republican National Committeeman Saul Anuzis (MI) – Elected as the youngest delegate to the 1980 Republican National Convention in Detroit; and served as third vice chairman of the Michigan Republican Party, organizing youth efforts during the Reagan administrations

Ambassador Peter F. Secchia (MI) – Michigan’s Republican National Committeeman, and Vice Chairman of the Republican National Committee during the Reagan Administration, elected in 1980 and re-elected in 1984 and 1988.

Ronna Romney (MI) – Republican National Committeewoman from Michigan, serving from 1984-1992

Curt Hames (IA) – Iowa activist for Reagan

Frank Severino (IA) – Reagan volunteer in Iowa, late father-in-law served as Reagan Iowa Campaign Manager

Jim Click (AZ) – Arizona Finance Chair, 1980 and 1984

Ambassador Glen Holden (CA) – Former Ambassador to Jamaica

Ambassador Barbara Barrett (AZ) – Deputy Administrator of the Federal Aviation Administration; also served as Vice Chairman of the Civil Aeronautics Board, the President’s Advisory Committee on Trade Negotiations, and the Board of the Administrative Conference of the US

Fred Balitzer (CA) – Consultant to the Secretary of the Department of Interior; Vice Chair - Javits Fellowships, Department of Education; Spec. Amb. - Brunei, Department of State

Ambassador Rockwell Schnabel (CA) – Former Ambassador to Finland

David C. Fischer (VA) – Special Assistant to the President, The White House; UN Human Rights Commissioner, Department of State; US Commissioner, International Boundary Commission

Joshua A. Muss (VA) – Executive Director, Property Review Board. Office of the President

Jack R. Stevens (VA) – Executive Director (1986-1988) and Western Regional Director (1983-1986), Citizens for America

Jerry Fox (FL) – Associate Administrator, General Services Administration; Associate Archivist (Management), National Archives

The Honorable Dodie Truman Stallcup (UT) – Director of Correspondence and Volunteers at the LA Headquarters and Transition Office, ‘79-’80; Special Assistant to the President and Director of Special Presidential Messages for the Executive Office of the President ‘81-’84; US Commissioner for Children, Youth, and Families and Chief of the Children’s Bureau at the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, ‘84-’89

Lindy Fekety – Secretary to Associate Director, Office of the President-Elect: Secretary to Special Assistant to the President, Personal Office of the President - The White House: Administrative Assistant to Director, Presidential Personnel - The White House: Director of Administration, Citizens for America

John Agresto (NM) – Former Acting Chair of the NEH; Former President/Chancellor of three colleges and universities; President of John Agresto & Associates

Susan Alvarado (VA) – Assistant to the Vice President for Legislative Affairs, Member, Board of Governors, U.S. Postal Service

Allen K. Bahn (MD) – Co-Coordinator, Ethic Vote - Reagan/Bush 1980, 1984

Bo Denysyk (MD) – Vice Chair, Civil Aeronautics Board; Member, Presidential Advisory Committee on Trade Negotiations; Deputy Administrator, Department of Transportation/FAA

© The Washington Post Company