Nine small communities in Maryland had elections last night, and results are starting to come in. Hyattsville and University Park vote today. Those votes won’t be counted until tonight.


Brentwood community activist Roger E. Rudder beat a late write-in challenge by former Mayor Betty Jean Schmiedigen to become the new mayor of the Town of Brentwood.

Rudder received 168 votes during the Monday election that also saw voters go to the polls in nine other municipalities. Two incumbents and two newcomers won seats on the Town Council.

The Brentwood council winners are Ada E. Brooks, 148 votes; Anecka Harrison, 149 votes; Regina Morlan,157; and Nina Marie Young, 149.

The former mayor, Xzavier Montgomery-Wright, withdrew her reelection bid just before a candidates’ forum, where she was sure to get questions about obtaining a debit card that allowed her to tap into the town’s budget to pay her $7,000 telephone bill.

Cottage City

In the Maryland town of Cottage City, two seats on the five-member commission were up for grabs. In Ward 1, incumbent Aileen McChesney won unopposed with 90 votes. But the surprise of the night was in the at-large race. Richard Cote, who was appointed to the job after his predecessor resigned, got 53 votes, while challenger Demetrius Givens got 85votes.


In the town of Cheverly, incumbent Laila Riazi received 95 votes over Preston White’s 16 votes for the Ward 1 council seat.

In the Ward 2 race, Mary Jane Coolen won with 120 votes, followed by Rachel Audi, 70, John LeGloahec, 76, and John Dotson, 1.

Roswell Eldridge was the only person on the ballot for the Ward 3 seat. He got 45 votes.

In Ward 4, David Thorp won with 91 votes. Fred Price Jr. Got 14 votes and Steven Johnson got one vote.

In Ward 6, Carolyn Cook received 49 votes to beat Velinda Mays, who got 25 votes.

Fairmont Heights

In the Town of Fairmont Heights, Willie Thompson Martin outlasted a crowded field to become mayor with 88 votes. Others in the race included Patricia Waiters with 62 votes, Jacqueline Wood-Dodson with 37, Ukkundo-Oohwala collecting 24 and Nancy Dixon Saxon at 22.

The three seats on the Fairmont Town Council went to the three vote getters: Kevin Downing, 129 votes; Aaron Harry Saunders, 114; and Aaron Wilson, 121. The other candidates were Nathaniel Mines Jr., who received 94 votes, R. Deans Cooks, 89, and Medeline Richardson, 88.

District Heights

Even though two of the four commission seats were in contention in District Heights, Ward 1’s Jack Sims was unopposed, and in Ward 2, Eddie L. Martin was unopposed.


In the Town of Morningside, two of the four council seats were up for grabs and the race was very close. The top two vote getters were Kevin Kline, 45 and James Ealey, 43. The others in the race included Sheila Scott, 41 and Todd Mellons, 28.

New Carrollton

The top three candidates who won seats on the New Carrollton City Council were Lisa Fenton, 243 votes, James Wildoner, 271 votes and James Garrett, 254. Richard Bechtold received 233 votes


In the Glenarden mayoral race, Gail Parker Carter received 214 votes to Donjaun Williams’ 204 votes.

In the at-large council race, Maxine Phifer got 245 votes to slip past Celestine E. Wilson who got 236 votes.

The Ward 1 council seat went to Carolyn Smallwood with 127 votes; James Hearing had 92 and Marshall Peeks, 80. In Ward 2, Elaine Carter had 48 votes and Margaret Dade, 43. In Ward 3, Jennifer Jenkins won with 116, besting Judy C. Diggs’ 51 votes.

North Brentwood

No results yet for North Brentwood.