Federal agencies inside the Washington, D.C., Beltway are open with unscheduled leave and unscheduled telework available, but some of Washington’s principal landmarks and some schools are closed today.

Here are some of the closures; check with government offices and come back to PostLocal for more updates.


Federal executive branch departments and agencies inside the Beltway are open with unscheduled leave and unscheduled telework available in accordance with agency guidelines, the Office of Personnel Management said.

Some federal buildings are closed pending further inspection. OPM has compiled a list of closures, but check with your agency if you’re unsure. Here’s a list of building closures as of Wednesday afternoon:


• U.S. Drug Administration

• Federal Aviation Administration (headquarters)

Department of Health and Human Services (Hubert Humphrey Building)

• Department of Labor (Frances Perkins Building)

• Independent U.S. Government Offices (National Building Museum)

• National Endowment for the Arts (Post Office Old)

• Department of Agriculture (Agriculture South)

• Department of Homeland Security (Nebraska Avenue Complex)

• Department of the Interior (headquarters)


• Department of Commerce (Building A)


• Office of the Secretary of Defense (One White Flint North)

• Department of Health & Human Services

• Archives

Emergency employees are expected to report for work on time, but non-emergency employees (including those on pre-approved paid leave) will be granted excused absence for the number of hours they were scheduled to work, unless:

• The employee is required to telework by his or her agency’s official policy as reflected in his or her written telework agreement;

• The employee works or is on official travel outside the Washington, D.C., area;

• The employee is on leave without pay; or

• The employee is on an alternative work schedule day off.

Officials said further changes to the agency closures list will not be posted on the OPM Web site again until 4 a.m. Thursday.

Reopening today will be U.S. Capitol and nearby House and Senate office buildings — all of which underwent inspections Tuesday.


UPDATE 1:07 p.m. Wednesday: D.C. Mayor Vincent C. Gray (D) said most, but probably not all D.C. public schools will be open Thursday. For more, go to D.C. Schools Insider.

District of Columbia public schools will be closed today. Students and staff should not report, but custodians should remain on standby. Staff assigned to administrative sites, including Central Office, should report as scheduled. Here’s a partial list of charter schools that are closed and schools that are being inspected for damage.

Prince George’s County public schools, Fauquier County public schools, Culpeper County public schools and the Spotsylvania County public schools will be closed today.

All Prince William County Schools facilities will be open today, with certain areas of some facilities being off limits.

Bull Run Elementary School in Fairfax County also will be closed to employees; schools open for students in Virginia after Labor Day.

In Alexandria, portions of City Hall will be closed, including the Sister Cities Conference Center rooms. For more information, go to alexandriava.gov/Earthquake.

Smallwood Elementary in Anne Arundel County closed at 11 a.m. Wednesday because of a power outage.


As a result of damage from Tuesday’s earthquake, the Washington Monument , the Smithsonian castle on the National Mall and Washington National Cathedral will be closed, authorities said.


Some buildings, schools and institutions remain open or have reopened after the quake. This is not an exhaustive list:

The Smithsonian museums, the Lincoln Memorial, the Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial and the National Zoo are open today.

Georgetown University, which was closed for part of the day on Tuessday, has reopened.

The White House and the Old Executive Office Building are open.

The U.S. Capitol, the Hart Senate Office Buildings, the Dirksen Senate Office Building, theRussell Senate Office Building, the Ford House Office Building, the Rayburn House Office Building, the Longworth House Office Building, the Cannon House Office Building and the Library of Congress Jefferson and Adams buildings have all reopened after inspections.