U.S. World Cup veterans Cobi Jones, Eddie Pope and Earnie Stewart have been elected to the National Soccer Hall of Fame.

Jones, a winger who became the national team’s all-time leader in matches played, was named on 87 percent of the ballots. Pope, who anchored D.C. United’s backline en route to three MLS titles and started in two World Cups, was included on 74 percent, and Stewart, a three-time World Cup player who played two seasons in Washington after a long career in the Netherlands, made 71 percent of the ballots. The threshold was 67 percent.

They are joined by former U.S. national team forward Bruce Murray (veteran ballot) and longtime coach Bob Gansler (builder ballot). Murray is from Montgomery County, Md., and emerged from the Washington area’s youth soccer system in the 1970s and ‘80s before starring at Clemson University and scoring at the 1990 World Cup in Italy.

Among those on the ballot missing the cut were Robin Fraser, Marco Etcheverry, Jason Kreis, Shannon MacMillan, Joe-Max Moore and Carlos Valderrama.

Etcheverry was named on 56 percent of ballots, MacMillan 54, Moore 51, Cindy Parlow 43, Valderrama 42, Peter Vermes 38, Chris Armas 32, Tisha Venturini Hoch 23, Fraser 20, Mauricio Cienfuegos 18, Roy Lassiter 17, Chris Henderson 17, Peter Nowak 17, Mike Burns 17, Steve Trittschuh 17, Victor Nogueria 16, Kreis 15, Raul Diaz Arce 10.

In the other categories, with different rules, Murray beat out Desmond Armstrong, 58-48, and Gansler edged Tony DiCicco, 58-56.