D.C. United’s list of protected players ahead of the Montreal Impact’s expansion draft Wednesday:


Charlie Davies

Dwayne DeRosario

Dejan Jakovic

Perry Kitchen

Chris Korb

Brandon McDonald

Chris Pontius

Clyde Simms

Joe Willis

Josh Wolff

Daniel Woolard


Protected through homegrown exemption

Bill Hamid

Andy Najar

Conor Shanosky

Ethan White

Available for selection

Brandon Barklage

Branko Boskovic

Blake Brettschneider

Marc Burch

Steve Cronin

Austin da Luz

Stephen King

Devon McTavish

Kurt Morsink

Joseph Ngwenya

Santino Quaranta

Jed Zayner

(Here’s what I wrote last week about United’s expansion plans.)

Montreal will select 10 players overall. No club will lose more than one player. Eight won’t lose anyone.

The complete league-wide lists are available here. You’ll notice many big names. However, salary considerations will likely deter the Impact from selecting them.