The United States will play Canada in Detroit, Panama in Tampa and Guadeloupe in Kansas City, Kan., in the group stage of this summer’s Gold Cup, CONCACAF announced Tuesday. Should the Americans win their group or finish second, they would play a quarterfinal at Washington’s RFK Stadium on June 19.

The New Meadowlands Stadium in New Jersey will host the other quarterfinal doubleheader. The semifinals are slated for Houston’s Reliant Stadium on June 22 and the final is at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, Calif., three days later.

The Gold Cup is the biennial regional championship for national teams from North and Central America and the Caribbean. The winner will advance to the 2013 FIFA Confederations Cup in Brazil.

CONCACAF did not conduct a draw to determine the groups. Rather, it arranged the field for group parity and to maximize interest in local markets.

Group A: Mexico, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Cuba

Group B: Honduras, Guatemala, Jamaica, Grenada

Group C: USA, Canada, Panama, Guadeloupe

The United States has never lost a match in the group stage since the Gold Cup began in 1991 (draws with Costa Rica in 2005 and Haiti in ‘09).

For the complete schedule and venues.....


Sun., June 5

Dallas Cowboys Stadium, Arlington, Tex.

Costa Rica-Cuba

Mexico-El Salvador

Mon., June 6

Home Depot Center, Carson, Calif.



Tues., June 7

Ford Field, Detroit



Thurs., June 9

Bank of America Stadium, Charlotte

Costa Rica-El Salvador


Fri., June 10

FIU Stadium, Miami



Sat., June 11

Raymond James Stadium, Tampa



Sun., June 12

Soldier Field, Chicago

El Salvador-Cuba

Mexico-Costa Rica

Mon., June 13

Red Bull Arena, Harrison, N.J.



Tues., June 14

KC Soccer Stadium, Kansas City, Kan.




Sat., June 18

New Meadowlands Stadium, East Rutherford, N.J.

Group A runner-up vs. Group B runner-up

Group A winner vs. Group B/C third-place

Sun., June 19

RFK Stadium, Washington

Group B winner vs. Group C runner-up

Group C winner vs. Group A/B third place


Wed., June 22

Reliant Stadium, Houston

Quarterfinal winners, 7 and 10 p.m. ET


Sat., June 25

Rose Bowl, Pasadena, Calif.

Semifinal winners, 9 p.m. ET

For additional details, ticket information and all the starting times, click here.