The Washington Post

MLS finalists for 2011 season awards

MLS has unveiled the finalists for its season awards. Voting was done by players, club officials and reporters. Ballots were submitted before the playoffs began.

MOST VALUABLE PLAYER (winner announced Nov. 18)

Brad Davis, Houston Dynamo

Dwayne De Rosario, D.C. United

Brek Shea, FC Dallas

COACH (Nov. 14)

Bruce Arena, Los Angeles Galaxy

Sigi Schmid, Seattle Sounders

Peter Vermes, Sporting Kansas City

ROOKIE (Nov. 8)

Michael Farfan, Philadelphia Union

Perry Kitchen, D.C. United

C.J. Sapong, Sporting Kansas City



Kevin Hartman, FC Dallas

Kasey Keller, Seattle Sounders

Faryd Mondragon, Philadelphia Union


Nat Borchers, Real Salt Lake

Omar Gonzalez, Los Angeles Galaxy

Jamison Olave, Real Salt Lake

COMEBACK (Nov. 14)

David Beckham, Los Angeles Galaxy

Charlie Davies, D.C. United

Dominic Oduro, Chicago Fire

NEWCOMER (Nov. 15)

Eric Hassli, Vanouver Whitecaps

Luke Rodgers, New York Red Bulls

Mauro Rosales, Seattle Sounders

Steven Goff is The Post’s soccer writer. His beats include D.C. United, MLS and the international game, as well as local college basketball.

The Freddie Gray case

Please provide a valid email address.

You’re all set!

Campaign 2016 Email Updates

Please provide a valid email address.

You’re all set!

Get Zika news by email

Please provide a valid email address.

You’re all set!
Show Comments
Most Read


Success! Check your inbox for details.

See all newsletters

Close video player
Now Playing