The Washington Post

All-ACC preseason team: Joe Vellano, Matt Furstenburg make the cut

Maryland defensive lineman Joe Vellano and tight end Matt Fustenburg have been named to the all-ACC preseason team, the conference announced Wednesday.

Vellano received 58 votes, third most among ACC defensive players. He has been named to the watch lists for the the Bednarik, Lombardi and Walter Camp awards, and the Bronco Nagurski and Outland Trophies. Furstenburg was named to the watch list for the Mackey Award.

Clemson wide receiver Sammy Watkins was named ACC preseason player of the year and was the only unanimous selection on the list.

Full all-ACC preseason team after the jump.

Offense (votes in parentheses)

WR Conner Vernon, Duke (41)

WR Sammy Watkins, Clemson (68)

TE Matt Furstenburg, Maryland (35)

T James Hurst, North Carolina (48)

T Oday Aboushi, Virginia (29)

G Omoregie Uzzi, Georgia Tech (57)

G Jonathan Cooper, North Carolina (55)

C Dalton Freeman, Clemson (58)

QB Tajh Boyd, Clemson (29)

RB Giovani Bernard, North Carolina (60)

RB Andre Ellington, Clemson (53)


DE Brandon Jenkins, Florida State (59)

DE James Gayle, Virginia Tech (31)

DT Joe Vellano, Maryland (58)

DT Nikita Whitlock, Wake Forest (33)

LB Kevin Reddick, North Carolina (49)

LB Bruce Taylor, Virginia Tech (42)

LB Steve Greer, Virginia (32)

CB David Amerson, NC State (63)

CB Kyle Fuller, Virginia Tech (25)

S Lamarcus Joyner, Florida State (45)

S Earl Wolff, NC State (30)


PK Dustin Hopkins, Florida State (54)

P Dalton Botts, Miami (65)

SP Greg Reid, Florida State (35)

After spending the first 17 years of his Post career writing and editing, Matt and the printed paper had an amicable divorce in 2014. He's now blogging and editing for the Early Lead and the Post's other Web-based products.

The Freddie Gray case

Please provide a valid email address.

You’re all set!

Campaign 2016 Email Updates

Please provide a valid email address.

You’re all set!

Get Zika news by email

Please provide a valid email address.

You’re all set!
Show Comments
Most Read


Success! Check your inbox for details.

See all newsletters

Close video player
Now Playing