Maryland’s first-year football and men’s basketball coaches rank in the top half of the ACC among the peers in their respective sports in guaranteed annual salary.

Hired away from Texas A&M in May, Terrapins men’s basketball coach Mark Turgeon will make $1.9 million per year, which ranks him second to Duke’s Mike Krzyzewski ($4.19 million) in annual guaranteed compensation among ACC men’s basketball coaches.

Randy Edsall, who took over the Terrapins’ football program in January, will be paid $2 million annually, which ties him for the fifth-highest annual salary among ACC football coaches.

Copies of Turgeon’s and Edsall’s contracts were obtained via a Freedom of Information Act request.

Turgeon will make roughly $300,000 more per year at Maryland than he did at Texas A&M. He also will receive a 5 percent annual increase ($95,000) in guaranteed pay in years 2-8 of his eight-year contract.

Under the terms of Turgeon’s contract, he is eligible for an annual maximum of $525,000 in incentives. Edsall, who signed a six-year contract, is eligible for a maximum of $950,000 in incentives per year. Edsall made roughly $1.6 million last year at Connecticut.

The layout of Turgeon’s and Edsall’s contracts are similar. Both coaches will be paid a $400,000 base salary, $400,000 in compensation for radio and television appearances, $400,000 for personal appearances and $400,000 for fundraising efforts.

In terms of guaranteed annual pay, their contracts differ when it comes to compensation for “service, equipment and apparel endorsements.” Edsall will make $400,000 annually for such efforts, while Turgeon will make $300,000.

Here is a breakdown of where each coach ranks among his ACC peers in terms of annual guaranteed compensation. These numbers either were obtained through public information requests or compiled from various media reports.

ACC Men’s Basketball Coaches guaranteed annual salary:

1) Mike Krzyzewski, Duke – $4,195,519

2) Mark Turgeon, Maryland – $1,900,000

3) Tony Bennett, Virginia – $1,700,000

4) Roy Williams, North Carolina – $1,655,000

5) Leonard Hamilton, Florida State – $1,503,500

6) Seth Greenberg, Virginia Tech – $1,415,159

7) Mark Gottfried, North Carolina State – $1,200,000

8) Jim Larranaga, Miami – $1,100,000

9) Brian Gregory, Georgia Tech – $1,000,000

10) Steve Donahue, Boston College – nearly $1 million, according to the Boston Globe

11) Brad Brownell, Clemson – $923,300

* Wake Forest Coach Jeff Bzdelik’s contract information could not be found.

ACC Football Coaches guaranteed annual salary:

1) Jim Grobe, Wake Forest – $2,900,000

2) Jimbo Fisher, Florida State – $2,750,000

3) Paul Johnson, Georgia Tech – $2,300,000

4) Frank Beamer, Virginia Tech – $2,100,000

5) Randy Edsall, Maryland – $2,000,000

5) Al Golden, Miami – $2,000,000

6) Dabo Swinney, Clemson – $1,760,000

7) Butch Davis, North Carolina – $1,750,000

8) Mike London, Virginia – $1,700,000

9) David Cutcliffe, Duke – $1,580,000

10) Tom O’Brien, North Carolina State – $1,520,000

11) Frank Spaziani, Boston College – reportedly between $900,000 and $1.1 million