Maryland’s Katie Schwarzmann was honored Thursday with the Tewaaraton Award, which recognizes the top college lacrosse player in the country each year. Colgate’s Peter Baum received the award as the sport’s top male collegian.

A junior midfielder from Sykesville, Md., Schwarzmann, a two-time finalist for the award, was named the ACC offensive player of the year, finishing first in the conference and second nationally in goals (72).

She was named most valuable player for the ACC tournament for her tournament-record 11 goals in three games en route to Maryland’s fourth consecutive conference title. She was also named to the NCAA championship all-tournament team.

Schwarzmann is the third Maryland player to win the award since it was first presented in 2001. The Terrapins’ Jen Adams won it that year, and Caitlyn McFadden won in 2010.

The awards were presented during ceremonies at the Smithsonian Institution’s National Museum of the American Indian.

In addition to Schwarzmann, this year’s female finalists were midfielder Brittany Dashiell of Bel Air (Florida), attacker Becky Lynch (North Carolina), midfielder Taylor Thornton (Northwestern) and attacker Michelle Tumolo (Syracuse).

In addition to Baum, the men’s finalists were midfielder C.J. Costabile (Duke), attackman Will Manny (Massachusetts), attackmen Mike Sawyer (Loyola) and attackman Steele Stanwick of Baltimore (Virginia).