PBS journalist Gwen Ifill. (Linda Davidson/THE WASHINGTON POST)

Moderating the event will be Maureen Bunyan, anchor for WJLA-TV, the ABC affiliate in the nation’s capital. Bunyan is also chair of the NABJ Hall of Fame Awards.

The panel consists of award-winning journalists who will be inducted into NABJ’s Hall of Fame during a sold-out gala Thursday night. Proceeds from the event support fellowship programs offered by the professional organization. Read about past Hall of Fame honorees

The honorees are: Gwen Ifill, moderator and managing editor of “Washington Week” and senior correspondent for the “PBS NewsHour;” Pat Harvey, co-anchor of the 5 p.m. and 11 p.m. for Los Angeles’s CBS affiliate; Ruth Allen Ollison, who helped establish the NBC affiliate news department in Tyler, Texas, and devoted much of her career to radio and television; Johnathan Rodgers, former TV One president and chief executive officer; and author, producer and former Time magazine deputy bureau chief Wallace Terry, who will be honored posthumously. Michael Fields, news director at Atlanta’s WABE 90.1 FM and former southern bureau chief for NPR, will receive the Ida B. Wells award for his commitment to media diversity.

The roundtable discussion, at 11 a.m., is free and open to journalists, students and faculty. Registration is required.

Read more on The Root DC

Tuskegee airmen not ‘magic negroes’

President Obama sings Al Green

Success amid losses

NAACP Image Awards nominees

Gingrich is no challenge for Obama