The Asia Society has announced that April Rabkin of Fast Company magazine has won the think tank’s Osborn Elliott Prize for Excellence in Journalism on Asia.

Rabkin won the award for a three-part series on how Chinese society is changing: “Follow the Billionaire,” “The Socialist Networks,” and “The People’s Education Army.”

“April Rabkin’s three-part series captures the flavors and nuances of the lives of real people in fast-changing China, from the angst of social networking behind the Great Firewall, to nouveau riche billionaires who want to be the world’s biggest philanthropists, to nerdy yet pampered teens with big dreams,” Norman Pearlstine, chief content officer at Bloomberg and chairman of the selection jury, said in a statement.

The award includes a $10,000 cash prize. Rabkin will be honored at a May 21 event at Asia Society in New York along with five other finalists:

• Agence France-Presse (Hla Hla Htay, Amelie Bottollier-Depois, Didier Lauras, Daniel Rook, Rachel O’Brien, Kelly Macnamara) for selected Burma coverage.

• Newsweek/The Daily Beast (Ron Moreau, Sami Yousafzai) for “The Taliban After Bin Laden,” “You Have the Watches, We Have the Time,” and “War Without End.”

• Tehelka (Rohini Mohan) for the two-part series on India, “Coastal Wars.”

• Thomson Reuters (Ryan Vlastelica, Daniel Bases, Clare Baldwin, Mark Bendeich, David Gaffen, Carlyn Kolker, Rachel Armstrong, Allison Martell, Martin Howell, Jim Impoco, Claudia Parsons, Michael Williams) for a series including “Chinese Stock Scams Are the Latest U.S. Import”

• The Washington Post (Andrew Higgins) for the series “Power Grab: China’s Quest for Energy.”

Previous winners include Keith Bradsher of the New York Times, Shai Oster of the Wall Street Journal and Evan Osnos of the Chicago Tribune.