The Washington Post

Breitbart Awards recipients announced

The Heritage Foundation and the Franklin Center for Government & Public Integrity have named the recipients of the inaugural Breitbart Awards.

The Heritage Foundation and the Franklin Center for Government and Public Integrity have announced the Breitbart Awards to commemorate media entrepreneur and conservative activist Andrew Breitbart. (Brendan Smialowski/Getty Images)

The awards, according to the Web site, “seek to ensure that [Breitbart’s] legacy is honored and that the movement he spawned continues on with the army of citizen activists that he cultivated and inspired.”  

Recipients of the 2012 Breitbart Awards fill three categories:

•Professional Journalist: Phillip Klein, The Washington Examiner

•Blogger: Ace of Spades, Ace of Spades HQ

•Citizen Journalist: Andrew Marcus

According to Heritage and Franklin, nominees for the awards should be “driven by an indomitable pursuit for truth and accountability” and “advanc[e] those causes on behalf of the public good.”

The June 8 awards dinner is the main event of the “Future of Journalism Summit.”

The Heritage Foundation already has a working relationship with In April, Heritage announced a partnership with the Breitbart News Network to bring the think tank’s popular weekly Blogger’s Briefing to Breitbart TV’s national conservative audience.

Allen McDuffee writes about politics and policy and covered think tanks for The Washington Post from 2011 to 2013. He freelances and hosts a podcast at and is currently working on a book about the influence of think tanks in Washington.


Success! Check your inbox for details. You might also like:

Please enter a valid email address

See all newsletters

Show Comments
Most Read


Success! Check your inbox for details.

See all newsletters

Your Three. Video curated for you.