The Center for a New American Security (CNAS) has announced the Next Generation National Security Leaders for 2011-2012.

The think tank draws the group from the military, executive and legislative branches and the private sector.

“By convening a diverse group of some of the most promising national security leaders, the Next Generation National Security Leaders Program helps to foster the bipartisan thinking and collaboration across different sectors that are critical to solving the national security challenges of today and tomorrow,” said CNAS CEO Nathaniel Fick in a statement.

2011-2012 Next Generation National Security Leaders:

Brian Andrews, Maritime Security & Multilateral Affairs Coordinator, Office of Multilateral Affairs, East Asian & Pacific Affairs Bureau, Department of State

Kate Brannen, Congressional Correspondent, Defense News

Lieutenant Commander William Bundy, Jr., USN, Special Assistant for Strategic Actions, Chief of Naval Operations, United States Navy

Frances Tilney Burke, Foreign Affairs Specialist, Office of Rule of Law & Detainee Policy, Office of the Under Secretary of Defense for Policy, Department of Defense

Margaret Goodlander, Advisor for National Security and Foreign Affairs, Senator Joseph Lieberman

Andrew Herr, Principal Investigator, Scitor Corporation

Lieutenant Commander Kate Higgins-Bloom, USCG, Assistant Director, Office of Legislative Affairs, Department of Homeland Security

Justin Johnson, Legislative Director and Defense Policy Advisor, Representative Todd Akin

Captain Arthur E. Karell, USMC, Afghanistan/Pakistan Hand, Marine Corps University

Tamara Klajn, Professional Staff Member, Senate Foreign Relations Committee

Laura Kwinn, Branch Chief for Laboratory Biosecurity, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response, Department of Health and Human Services

Captain Joseph A. McCarthy, USA, Military Assistant, Office of the Secretary of Defense, Department of Defense

Paul Scharre, Foreign Affairs Specialist, Office of Force Development, Office of the Secretary of Defense, Department of Defense

Will Schlickenmaier, Director for Eastern and Strategic European Affairs, National Security Staff, National Security Council

Michael Sellitto, Foreign Affairs Officer, Office of the Coordinator for Counterterrorism, Department of State

Major Brian T. Stahl, USAF, Operations Program Element Monitor, Global Power Programs, Office of the Assistant Secretary of the Air Force for Acquisition, United States Air Force