Alexandria Democrats should brace themselves: They will have to choose from among 14 candidates for six seats on the City Council during their June 12 primary.

The deadline for filing was 5 p.m. today, and the candidates are:

John Taylor Chapman, Melissa Feld, Michael A. Hepburn, Sean Holihan, Donna Fossum, Tim Lovain, Sammie Moshenburg, Vicky Mejivar, Arthur Peabody, Allison Silberberg, Boyd Walker, Justin Wilson and incumbents Del Pepper and Paul Smedberg.

Incumbents Kerry Donley and Rob Krupicka are not running for reelection. Charles Sumpter, who had previously announced that he would run, dropped out earlier this month due to a family health issue.

Mayor William Euille also filed for reelection to his post, and no other Democrat has filed a challenge, although Andrew Macdonald, the former vice mayor, has announced his intention to run for mayor as an independent in November.

This is the first time in recent memory that the Alexandria Democrats will stage a primary, said chairman Dak Hardwick. About 95,000 voters are registered in the city.

The local Democratic Committee plans two debates, both starting at 7 p.m.: May 9 at Francis C. Hammond Middle School and June 4 at George Washington Middle School. Neighborhood or civic associations may also hold debates.

The Alexandria Republican City Committee will hold a party canvass on June 2 to select its candidates for council. There are two incumbents, Frank Fannon and Alicia Hughes. A challenger, Scott Gordon, dropped out because of a family medical issue.