The U.S. Justice Department has approved Fairfax County’s redistricting plan, thus fixing the boundaries of its nine magisterial districts for the next decade and clearing the way to the upcoming primary and general elections this year, county officials said Tuesday.

The county tinkered only slightly with the boundaries that existed before the 2010 census, shifting only seven precincts from one district to another and altering the boundaries of three other precincts.

“The plan we adopted in April is the culmination of an inclusive and transparent process and will ensure Fairfax County residents are represented fairly and equally on the Board of Supervisors,” Chairman Sharon Bulova (D) said in a written statement. The Board adopted the new redistricting map unanimously, with one abstention, based on a plan developed by a citizens advisory panel.

The Justice Department, which was required by civil rights law to review the plan because of Virginia’s past record of discrimination, granted its approval Monday.

The precinct changes are as follows:

Bristow moves from Braddock to Mason District.

Eagle View and Monument move from Springfield to Braddock District.

Walnut Hill No. 2 moves from Providence to Mason District.

Hunt moves from Mount Vernon to Springfield District.

Coates moves from Hunter Mill to Dranesville District.

Colvin moves from Dranesville to Hunter Mill District.

The precinct boundary changes are as follows:

Woodlawn Precinct is divided along Frye Road. Frye Road becomes the eastern boundary of the Woodlawn Precinct. The area east of Frye Road becomes a new precinct to be named “Pinewood” and then be included in the Lee District. The Pinewood polling place will be the Mount Vernon Woods Elementary School.

Willow Springs Precinct is divided along Stringfellow Road to the north of Lee Highway. Stringfellow Road becomes the western boundary of the Willow Springs and the eastern boundary of the Powell Precinct. The area to the west of Stringfellow Road is included in the Sully District.

Nottoway Precinct is divided so that the portion of the precinct that lies within the Town of Vienna becomes part of the Vienna No. 6 Precinct. That area is included in the Hunter Mill District.

The county’s nine supervisor districts are now composed of these election precincts:


Bonnie Brae, Burke Centre, Cardinal, Chapel, Eagle View, Fairview, Heritage, Keene Mill, Kings Park, Lake Braddock, Laurel, Long Branch, Monument, North Springfield No. 1, North Springfield No. 2, Oak Hill, Olde Creek, Olley, Ravensworth, Robinson, Sideburn, Signal Hill, Terra Centre, Villa, Wakefield, and Woodson


Chain Bridge, Chesterbrook, Churchill, Clearview, Coates, Cooper, El Nido, Forestville, Great Falls, Haycock, Herndon No. 1, Herndon No. 2, Herndon No. 3, Hickory, Hutchison, Kenmore, Kirby, Langley, Longfellow, McLean, Pimmit, Salona, Seneca, Shouse, Spring Hill, Sugarland, Westhampton, and Westmoreland.

Hunter Mill:

Aldrin, Cameron Glen, Colvin, Dogwood, Flint Hill, Floris, Fox Mill, Frying Pan, Glade, Hunters Woods, McNair, North Point, Reston No. 1, Reston No. 2, Reston No. 3, South Lakes, Stuart, Sunrise Valley, Terraset, Vienna No. 1, Vienna No. 2, Vienna No. 4, Vienna No. 6, Westbriar, and Wolftrap


Bush Hill, Cameron, Clermont, Crestwood, Fairfield, Franconia, Garfield, Greenspring, Groveton, Hayfield, Huntley, Island Creek, Kingstowne, Lane, Lynbrook, Mount Eagle, Pinewood, Pioneer, Rose Hill, Van Dorn, Villages, Virginia Hills, and Wilton


Baileys, Barcroft, Belvedere, Bren Mar, Bristow, Brook Hill, Camelot, Columbia, Edsall, Glen Forest No. 1, Glen Forest No. 2, Holmes No. 1, Holmes No. 2, Hummer, Leewood, Lincolnia, Masonville, Parklawn, Poe, Ravenwood, Ridgelea, Saint Albans, Skyline, Sleepy Hollow, Walnut Hill No. 1, Walnut Hill No. 2, Westlawn, Weyanoke, Whittier, and Willston

Mount Vernon:

Alban, Belle Haven, Belleview, Belvoir, Bucknell, Fort Hunt, Grosvenor, Gunston, Hollin Hall, Huntington, Kirkside, Laurel Hill, Lorton, Lorton Center, Lorton Station, Marlan, Newington, Saratoga, Sherwood, South County, Stratford, Waynewood, Westgate, Whitman, Woodlawn, and Woodley


Blake, Fairfax Court (that part of Fairfax County containing the governmental complex that is surrounded by Fairfax City), Fort Buffalo, Freedom Hill, Graham, Greenway, Kilmer, Magarity, Mantua, Marshall, Merrifield, Mosby, Nottoway, Oak Marr, Oakton, Penderbrook, Pine Ridge, Pine Spring, Price, Shreve, Stenwood, Thoreau, Timber Lane, Tysons, Walker, and Woodburn


Burke, Centerpointe, Cherry Run, Clifton, Fair Lakes, Fair Oaks, Fairfax Station, Fountainhead, Hunt, Greenbriar East, Greenbriar West, Irving, Newgate North, Newgate South, Orange, Parkway, Pohick, Popes Head, Sangster, Silverbrook, South Run, Valley, West Springfield, White Oaks, Willow Springs, and Woodyard


Brookfield, Bull Run, Centre Ridge, Centreville, Cub Run, Deer Park, Dulles, Franklin, Green Trails, Kinross, Lees Corner East, Lees Corner West, London Towne East, London Towne West, Navy, Old Mill, Poplar Tree, Powell, Rocky Run, Stone, Vale, Virginia Run, and Waples Mill