It’s time for the annual Capitol Square Basketball Classic.

Gov. Bob McDonnell and Attorney General Ken Cuccinelli, along with legislators, lobbyists and staffers, will head to Virginia Commonwealth University to play basketball for charity.

As is customary, McDonnell’s team will play against lobbyists while the House of Delegates plays the Senate. Cuccinelli, a former senator, will play on the governor’s team and the Senate team (They’re aren’t usually enough senators playing. Once even a reporter had to fill in.)

McDonnell — quite the football player back in his high school days — has been running as his schedule allows to stay in shape, according to his staff.

This year, Lt. Gov. Bill Bolling (R) will play announcer. In the past, Dels. Phil Hamilton and Dave Albo have given that job a try, to mixed results.

Money raised at the annual event will go to VCU’s Massey Cancer Center.

House and Senate pages will be out in full force to support their teams.

See below for the full roster:

Governor’s Office

Bob McDonnell

Matt Cobb

Chad Cole

Ken Cuccinelli

D.J. Eckert

Julia Hammond

Andrew Lamar

Paul Logan

Randy Marcus

Christy Morton

Gine Padrone

Jeff Palmore

Logan Pugh

Matt Strader

Taylor Thornley

A.J. Walden


Felix Sarfo-Kantnaka, McGuireWoods Consulting (Injured Reserve not playing)

Mike Reynold of McGuireWoods Consulting

Davis Rennolds of McGuireWoods Consulting

Ryan Dunn of the Virginia Chamber of Commerce

Keith Martin of the Virginia Chamber of Commerce

Steven Deluca of Capital One

John-Garrett Kemper of Kemper Consulting

Joel Andrus of Kemper Consulting

Chris Frink Lobbyist Specialist in Governor’s Office

Matt Bendetti of Matt Benedetti & Associates

Rob Shinn of Capital Results

Keenan Caldwell of the American Cancer Society

Patrick Cushing of Williams Mullen


Manoli Loupassi

Chris Jones

Terry Kilgore

Alphonso Lopez

David Toscano

Tag Greason

John Cosgrove

Barry Knight

Jim LeMunyon

Randy Minchew

Joe Morrissey

David Yancey


Emmett Hanger

George Barker

Ryan McDougle

Ralph Northam

Ken Cucccinelli

Chap Peterson

Don McEachin