The General Assembly voted Thursday night to appoint three new judges in Northern Virginia as part of a slew of judicial appointments lawmakers made across the state.

Jim Clark was appointed to fill a circuit court vacancy in Alexandria.

J. Gregory Ashwell was appointed to fill a general district court vacancy in the judicial district that includes Fauquier, Loudoun and Rappahannock.

Fauquier County Commonwealth’s Attorney Jonathan Lynn was appointed to fill Ashwell’s vacancy on the juvenile and domestic relations court for the judicial district that includes Fauquier, Loudoun and Rappahannock.

The terms begin July 1.

But the Republican-controlled House of Delegates and Democratic-led Senate were not able to agree on who should replace two Supreme Court justices — Leroy R. Hassell Sr., who died in February, and Lawrence L. Koontz Jr., who is retiring.

Legislators remain in a special session because they yet to finish congressional maps and so they will attempt to fill Supreme Court vacancies later this year.

If the two chambers cannot come to an agreement and leave vacancies after adjourning their session, Gov. Bob McDonnell (R) is allowed to name justices to serve until the General Assembly returns to Richmond in January.

The House wants to fill the Supreme Court vacancies with Court of Appeals Judges D. Arthur Kelsey and Elizabeth A. McClanahan. The Senate has not formally made a selection, but some members want to fill one slot with Judge Cleo E. Powell, the first African American woman named to the Virginia Court of Appeals.