House Republicans elected Del. Jackson H. Miller (Manassas) on Sunday to be their majority whip, replacing Del. William R. Janis (Goochland), who left the House to run for commonwealth’s attorney.

“Jackson will be a tremendous asset to our team,” said Speaker William J. Howell. “He is a gifted lawmaker with remarkable talent and an enduring dedication to his constituents and the commonwealth.”

Miller will be the second member of the GOP leadership team to reside in Northern Virginia.

“I look forward to working with our leadership team in moving a common-sense agenda forward,” Miller said.

At a meeting Sunday, the 68-member caucus also reelected Howell, of Stafford, as speaker, Del. M. Kirkland Cox of Colonial Heights as majority leader and Del. Timothy D. Hugo of Fairfax as caucus chairman.

Howell was first elected in 2003. The full House will officially vote on his appointment in January.

“The House Republican Caucus has grown to a 68-member majority, the largest majority held by Republicans in modern history,” Howell said. “The able leadership team our caucus has chosen today will lead our ever-expanding caucus during the 2012 General Assembly session.We look forward to working with Governor McDonnell to address the issues important to all Virginians.”