After wresting control of the Virginia Senate away from Democrats in elections last week, Republicans have decided party leadership for the upper chamber.

Sen. Thomas K. Norment, Jr. (R-James City) will continue to serve as Senate majority leader, despite talk before the elections that the moderate might be replaced with someone more conservative.

The Virginia Senate Republican Caucus also formally announced late Thursday that Sen. Ryan T. McDougle (R-Hanover) will serve as caucus chairman and that Sen. Stephen D. Newman (R-Bedford County) will serve as caucus vice chairman.

Sens. Jeffrey L. McWaters (R-Virginia Beach), William M. Stanley, Jr. (R-Franklin County) and Jill Holtzman Vogel (R-Fauquier) will serve as Senate Majority Whips. The caucus leadership was unanimously elected.

“The people of Virginia voted to have Republicans lead the Senate of Virginia, and we are honored to have the opportunity to lead the Senate,” Norment said in a prepared statement. “Working with Governor McDonnell, Lt. Governor Bolling, and the Republican leadership of the House of Delegates, we are prepared to enact a reform agenda that will revitalize Virginia’s economy and create jobs.”