Woodbridge Republican Chris Royse plans to kick off his second campaign for a spot on the Prince William Board of County supervisors on Tuesday.

Royse, 42, made a run for the Woodbridge district seat in 2007. Democrat Frank J. Principi won the seat vacated by longtime Supervisor Hilda M. Barg (D). Royse said he plans to try again come November because the community lacks a supervisor who will provide a “prompt and personal” response to constituents.

“I’m going to bring a personal touch back to the supervisor’s office,” he said. “I think Woodbridge is a fantastic community …and it has great potential.”

Royse moved to Woodbridge in 1998 to work with the FBI on budget issues related to weapons of mass destruction. A former Army special operator, Royse now works in the District for a global engineering firm.

Royse, who has three children, also serves on the Prince William County Schools Safe Schools Advisory Council.

An advocate for local businesses, Royse said he would support initiatives that help the business community. He said the “pathway to prosperity” in Woodbridge is also to get Route 1 revitalized.

Principi and Royse are the only two candidates who have announced a run for the Woodbridge district seat. Principi is one of four incumbent supervisors who have challengers.

Supervisors W.S. Covington III (R-Brentsville) and Martin E. Nohe will face Republicans Jeanine Lawson and J. Robert Pugh Jr., respectively, in an Aug. 23 primary.

Board Chairman Corey A. Stewart (R-At Large), will face Independent John Gray and Democrat Babur Lateef in November.

Supervisor John T. Stirrup (R-Gainesville) has decided to run for a newly created state Senate seat that includes part of Prince William.

Several Republicans and a Democrat are looking to fill Stirrup’s seat. Republicans Steve Botello, Suzanne Miller, Peter Candland, Martha Hendley and Michael High have all filed their intentions with the county’s registrar, as has Democrat Ann Wheeler.

So far, there are no challengers for supervisors Maureen S. Caddigan (R-Dumfries), John D. Jenkins (D-Neabsco) and Mike C. May (R-Occoquan).