A sampling of local business leaders who have contributed the maximum individual amount ($5,000) to Mitt Romney and Barack Obama, according to Federal Election Commission data compiled by the Center for Responsive Politics. The list does not include contributions to PACs.


•John Hendricks, chairman, Discovery Communications.

•Bobbie Kilberg, president and chief executive, Northern Virginia Technology Council.

•Jay Johnson, chairman and chief executive, General Dynamics.

•Bill Thorne, senior vice president for communications, National Retail Federation.

•E. Donald Elliott, partner and chairman of environment, health and safety department, Willkie Farr & Gallagher.

•Alex Mistri, managing director of government affairs, Glover Park Group.

Justin Knight, president, Apple REIT Cos.

•Meredith Attwell Baker, senior vice president of government affairs, NBC Universal.

•Janice Obuchowski, president, Freedom Technologies.

•David Rodriguez, executive vice president and chief human resources officer, Marriott International.


•Annie Burns, partner, GMMB

•David Doniger, policy director, Natural Resources Defense Council.

•John Byrne, chief executive, TriCerat.

•Thomas Connell, (retired) partner, Wilmer, Cutler, Pickering, Hale & Dorr.

•Michael Gross, president, Advantage Properties.

•Christopher Flynn, Flynn Finishes.

•Ulysese Jefferson, president and chief executive, Worldwide Information Networks Systems (part of ManTech).

•Robert Hatten, managing partner, Patten, Wornom, Hatten & Diamonstein.

•Robert Remes, attorney, Carliner & Remes.

Jeff Rowan, self-employed.