Jim Hagedorn wins Minnesota's 1st Congressional District seat

Republican Jim Hagedorn has beaten Dan Feehan, a Democrat, in the race for the House seat representing Minnesota's 1st Congressional District, currently held by Democrat Tim Walz.

With all precincts reporting, Hagedorn has 50.2 percent of the vote, followed by Feehan with 49.8 percent.

Walz has represented the district in the House since 2007.

Democrats have gained a majority in the House, with 235 seats in the next Congress. All of Minnesota's House seats have been decided; four switched hands, with two going to Democrats and two going to Republicans.

The number of votes cast for Democrats in House races has increased 55.0 percent from the 2014 midterms, compared with an increase of 25.6 percent for Republicans.

The district went for President Trump, a Republican, in 2016 by a margin of 14.8 points. Democrat Hillary Clinton won Minnesota by 1.5 points.

Data is from the Associated Press. This story may be updated if more information becomes available. It is powered by Heliograf, The Post's artificial intelligence system.

The story must be told.
Your subscription supports journalism that matters.
Read stories based on reporting for “Trump Revealed,” a broad, comprehensive biography of the life of the president.
Now Playing