Last updated: Jan. 11, 2022 at 9:36 p.m. ET

2022 Florida congressional special election results

Democrat Sheila Cherfilus-McCormick wins House seat in Florida special election

Sheila Cherfilus-McCormick has won a special election to fill the open seat in Florida’s 20th Congressional District, previously held by longtime Rep. Alcee Hastings (D) who died last April. To delay filling the seat — and cutting the party’s House margin by one — Florida Gov. Ron DeSantis (R) set the general election for Jan. 11. Cherfilus-McCormick won a primaryby only five votes —marked by frustration among the candidates at national Democrats and criticism of the Biden administration’s immigration policy.

20th District

Cherfilus-McCormick (D) is projected to win. 100 percent of precincts are reporting.

Votes received and percentages of total vote
Sheila Cherfilus-McCormick Cherfilus-McCormick 43,66378.7%
Jason Mariner Mariner 10,88319.6
Mike ter Maat ter Maat 3900.7
Jim Flynn Flynn 2620.5
Leonard Serratore Serratore 2590.5
55,457 votes reported from 100% of precincts.

By: Lenny Bronner, Holden Foreman, Dylan Freedman, Chloe Langston, Emily Liu, Brittany Renee Mayes, Anthony Pesce, Erik Reyna, Ashlyn Still, Kavya Sukumar and Susan Tyler