Author Susanna Clarke (credit: Sarah Lee)
Author Susanna Clarke (credit: Sarah Lee)
Fans of “Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell” have waited a long time for Clarke’s second novel.
  • Sep 8
  • Review
Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi’s Uganda-set novel follows a girl caught between tradition and her rebellious urges.
Andrew Weissmann targets Barr, Trump and his own Justice Department colleagues for criticism.
  • Review
The book takes a “Sliding Doors” approach, as a woman, on the heels of a near-death experience, contemplates her next move.
  • 17 hours ago
  • Review
“The Evening and the Morning” travels back to the Dark Ages with the story of the creation of the town of Kingsbridge.
  • 1 day ago
  • Review
The story, set in segregated St. Louis, follows a White thief and a Black teacher whose lives intersect.
  • Review
As diverse as Spanish genre fiction is, most of it is hidden from the English-language world. Thankfully, enthusiasts and small publishers are filling the void.
  • 1 day ago
Essays on losing: how it feels and what it means.
  • 4 days ago
Sarah Maslin Nir has long been captivated by the creatures — and she’s hardly alone.
  • 4 days ago
Former editor Leonard Downie Jr. offers a behind-the-scenes account of his 44 years at the newspaper.
  • 4 days ago
He understood the role of domestic affairs in foreign policy, Thomas A. Schwartz explains.
  • 4 days ago
Load More
Get the latest on readings, signings and author appearances in the D.C. area.