A second member of the Eisenhower Memorial Commission has resigned, the commission announced Friday.

The departure of Sen. Jack Reed (D-R.I.) comes a week after the commission announced another inaugural member, Sen. Jerry Moran (R-Kan.), had stepped down.

Reed had served on the panel since 2001.

“Senator Reed has been honored to serve on the commission for over a decade. Now is a good time to give someone else a chance and bring in new perspectives. And with the departures of both Senators Moran and Reed, it restores parity,” Reed’s press secretary, Chip Unruh, wrote in an e-mail. “Senator Reed has the utmost respect for all parties involved. He believes the commission will continue working to build a fitting monument to President Eisenhower.”

The resignation came a day after the memorial commission received preliminary approval from the National Capital Planning Commission for its revised design honoring the World War II general and 34th president.

After several years of discussion, the commission gave the go-ahead Thursday to Frank Gehry’s controversial vision of a modern memorial featuring stainless steel tapestries and columns.

The NCPC is one of two government agencies that must sign off on the plan before construction can begin on the four-acre site on Independence Avenue.

Memorial Commission Chairman Rocco Siciliano thanked Reed for his service.

“As a military veteran and graduate of the United States Military Academy at West Point, he provided keen insight into the importance of President and General Eisenhower’s military experience and leadership to the fundamental core of Eisenhower’s roots and legacy,” Sicilian said in a statement released by the commission. “I and the other Commissioners appreciate his long, dedicated service.”

Neither Moran nor Reed attended the commission’s meeting earlier this month. With only five of its 12 members present, the group was unable to reach a quorum.

The 12-member commission consists of four members of the senate who are appointed by their party leaders, so Majority Leader Harry M. Reid (D-Nev.) will choose Reed’s replacement and Minority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-Ken.) will replace Moran.