The Washington Post

Despite irritating flourishes, BSO displays some creativity with Vivaldi, Bach and Handel

Jonathan Carney, front. (Dave Hoffmann)

The Baltimore Symphony Orchestra offered an easy-listening concert on a balmy summer’s eve Thursday at Strathmore. Led by BSO concertmaster Jonathan Carney, the program consisted of well-known numbers by Vivaldi, Bach and Handel, with a movement from the “Holberg Suite” by Grieg. Although the orchestra was greatly reduced, it still lumbered in the faster pieces and made the harpsichord onstage basically an inaudible piece of furniture, but for a few anticipatory arpeggios.

Carney can be an irritating performer. His mannered and energy-wasting playing sometimes comes at the expense of accuracy. In his two solo numbers — “L’inverno” and “L’estate,” from Vivaldi’s “Le quattro stagioni” — he would sometimes play with his back to the audience, a la Miles Davis. And he was in over his head trying to lead the full ensemble while playing in Bach’s complex Orchestral Suite No. 3, whose faster sections were devoid of dynamics or internal shaping.

That said, the two concertos were full of individual touches bespeaking detailed creativity and thinking-through. Kudos to the BSO and especially principal cellist Dariusz Skoraczewski for successfully mastering Carney’s tempo flexibility and other dramatic flourishes. For the rest of the pieces, they were efficient run-throughs, the horns and oboes braying lustily and the trumpets, while not perfectly in tune, displaying shining tone and blend.

Battey is a freelance writer.



Success! Check your inbox for details. You might also like:

Please enter a valid email address

See all newsletters

Show Comments
Most Read
Your Three. Videos curated for you.
Play Videos
How to make Sean Brock's 'Heritage' cornbread
New limbs for Pakistani soldiers
The signature dish of Charleston, S.C.
Play Videos
Why seasonal allergies make you miserable
John Lewis, 'Marv the Barb' and the politics of barber shops
What you need to know about filming the police
Play Videos
The Post taste tests Pizza Hut's new hot dog pizza
5 tips for using your thermostat
Michael Bolton's cinematic serenade to Detroit
Play Videos
Full disclosure: 3 bedrooms, 2 baths, 1 ghoul
Pandas, from birth to milk to mom
The signature drink of New Orleans

To keep reading, please enter your email address.

You’ll also receive from The Washington Post:
  • A free 6-week digital subscription
  • Our daily newsletter in your inbox

Please enter a valid email address

I have read and agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.

Please indicate agreement.

Thank you.

Check your inbox. We’ve sent an email explaining how to set up an account and activate your free digital subscription.