The Washington Post

Teddy Roosevelt finishes first at last in Presidents’ Race at Nationals Park

With his win in Wednesday’s season finale, Teddy’s losing streak ended at 537. (Jonathan Newton/The Washington Post)

Wednesday was a big day for Nationals fans. The team had already won the race to the playoffs, but there was another race that was driving fans into a frenzy: Teddy Roosevelt’s quest to win the Presidents Race.

Teddy, the towering bobbleheaded president who races rivals George Washington, Abraham Lincoln and Thomas Jefferson at each Nationals home game, finally won his first race during Wednesday’s game against the Philadelphia Phillies, the last game of the regular season.

Teddy was slow out of the center-field gate and fell behind the other presidents. But he got a helping hand from a look-alike of the Phillie Phanatic, the other team’s mascot. The Phanatic tackled the other presidents and ran beside Teddy to the finish line.

And the crowd went wild.

Teddy made no post-race comments but clearly enjoyed the attention.

The Presidents Race has been a fourth-inning tradition at Nats home games since July 21, 2006. Abe has the most wins with 214 .

Christina Barron

Show Comments

To keep reading, please enter your email address.

You’ll also receive from The Washington Post:
  • A free 6-week digital subscription
  • Our daily newsletter in your inbox

Please enter a valid email address

I have read and agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.

Please indicate agreement.

Thank you.

Check your inbox. We’ve sent an email explaining how to set up an account and activate your free digital subscription.