When You Trap a Tiger” by Tae Keller was chosen Monday to receive the 2021 John Newbery Medal, the highest honor in children’s literature.

The novel is a story about a girl whose family moves in with her sick grandmother. A magical tiger from Korean folklore appears to the girl and offers her a deal to help her grandmother get better.

The book also won the Asian/Pacific American Award for children’s literature.

The American Library Association, which hosts the annual Youth Media Awards, announced five Newbery honor books: “All Thirteen: The Incredible Cave Rescue of the Thai Boys’ Soccer Team” and “A Wish in the Dark” by Christina Soontornvat, “Box: Henry Brown Mails Himself to Freedom” by Carole Boston Weatherford, “Fighting Words” by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley, “We Dream of Space” by Erin Entrada Kelly.

The prize for top illustrated book, the Randolph Caldecott Medal, went to “We Are Water Protectors,” illustrated by Michaela Goade and written by Carole Lindstrom. KidsPost chose the book, which sends an urgent message about planet Earth, as one of best nonfiction kids books of 2020.

Before the Ever After” by Jacqueline Woodson won the Coretta Scott King author award, for an outstanding work by an African American writer. “R-E-S-P-E-C-T: Aretha Franklin, the Queen of Soul,” by Frank Morrison won the Coretta Scott King award for an illustrator. The book is written by Carole Boston Weatherford.

The Pura Belpré Award, which honors the best book by a Latinx author, was awarded to “¡Vamos! Let’s Go Eat,” illustrated and written by Raúl Gonzalez. It was a KidsPost best picture book pick along with “I Talk Like a River,” by written by Jordan Scott and illustrated by Sydney Smith. The latter book received the Schneider Family Book Award, which honors books that represent characters with disabilities.

The Newbery Medal, the oldest children’s book award in the United States, was first given out in 1922. It’s named after an 18th-century author and publisher who is the first known person to specialize in books for children.

The prizes were announced Monday during American Library Association annual midwinter meeting, which took place virtually.