Here are schools in Maryland, Virginia and the District that the National Security Agency and Department of Homeland Security have identified as “national centers of excellence” in information assurance education at the two- or four-year level. Those also identified as centers of excellence in IA research are noted with an R.

District: Howard University, George Washington University (R), Georgetown University, Information Resources Management College, University of the District of Columbia.

Maryland: Anne Arundel Community College, Bowie State University, Capitol College, College of Southern Maryland, Community College of Baltimore County, Hagerstown Community College, Harford Community College, Howard Community College, Johns Hopkins University (R), Montgomery College, Prince George’s Community College, Towson University, U.S. Naval Academy, University of Maryland Baltimore County (R), University of Maryland University College.

Virginia: George Mason University (R), Hampton University, James Madison University, Marymount University; Norfolk State University; Northern Virginia Community College.

Note: The NSA and DHS also list the University of Maryland at College Park and Virginia Tech as centers of excellence in IA research.

Source: NSA/DHS