The complete list of 2017 Pulitzer Prize winners.


Public Service

Winner: New York Daily News and ProPublica

Finalists: Chicago Tribune; Houston Chronicle

Breaking News Reporting

Winner: Staff of East Bay Times (Oakland, Calif.)

Finalists: Dallas Morning News staff; Orlando Sentinel staff

Investigative Reporting

Winner: Eric Eyre of the Charleston (W.Va.) Gazette-Mail

Finalists: Michael J. Berens and Patricia Callahan of the Chicago Tribune; Steve Reilly of the USA Today Network

Explanatory Reporting

Winner: International Consortium of Investigative Journalists, McClatchy and Miami Herald

Finalists: Joan Garrett McClane and Joy Lukachick Smith of the Chattanooga (Tenn.) Times Free Press; Julia Angwin, Jeff Larson, Surya Mattu, Lauren Kirchner and Terry Parris Jr. of ProPublica; staff of National Geographic

Local Reporting

Winner: The Salt Lake Tribune Staff

Finalists: Jenna Russell, Maria Cramer, Michael Rezendes, Todd Wallack and Scott Helman of the Boston Globe; Michael Schwirtz, Michael Winerip and Robert Gebeloff of the New York Times

National Reporting

Winner: David Fahrenthold of The Washington Post

Finalists: Renee Dudley, Steve Stecklow, Alexandra Harney and other members of the Reuters staff; the Atlanta Journal-Constitution staff

International Reporting

Winner: The New York Times staff

Finalists: Chris Hamby of BuzzFeed News; International Consortium of Investigative Journalists, McClatchy and the Miami Herald; the Wall Street Journal staff

Feature Writing

Winner: C.J. Chivers of the New York Times

Finalists: Adam Entous and Devlin Barrett of the Wall Street Journal; Eli Saslow of The Washington Post


Winner: Peggy Noonan of the Wall Street Journal

Finalists: Dahleen Glanton of the Chicago Tribune; Trudy Rubin of the Philadelphia Media Network


Winner: Hilton Als of the New Yorker

Finalists: Laura Reiley of the Tampa Bay (Fla.) Times; Ty Burr of the Boston Globe

Editorial Writing

Winner: Art Cullen of the Storm Lake (Iowa) Times

Finalists: Fred Hiatt of The Washington Post; Joe Holley and Evan Mintz of the Houston Chronicle

Editorial Cartooning

Winner: Jim Morin of the Miami Herald

Finalists: Jen Sorensen, freelance cartoonist; Steve Sack of the Star Tribune (Minneapolis)

Breaking News Photography

Winner: Daniel Berehulak, freelance photographer

Finalists: Jonathan Bachman, freelance photographer; photography staff of the Associated Press

Feature Photography

Winner: E. Jason Wambsgans of the Chicago Tribune

Finalists: Jake May of the Flint (Mich.) Journal; Katie Falkenberg of the Los Angeles Times



Winner: “The Underground Railroad,” by Colson Whitehead

Finalists: “Imagine Me Gone,” by Adam Haslett; “The Sport of Kings,” by C. E. Morgan


Winner: “Sweat,” by Lynn Nottage

Finalists: “A 24-Decade History of Popular Music,” by Taylor Mac; “The Wolves,” by Sarah DeLappe


Winner: “Blood in the Water: The Attica Prison Uprising of 1971 and Its Legacy,” by Heather Ann Thompson

Finalists: “Brothers at Arms: American Independence and the Men of France and Spain Who Saved It,” by Larrie D. Ferreiro; “New England Bound: Slavery and Colonization in Early America,” by Wendy Warren

Biography or Autobiography

Winner: “The Return: Fathers, Sons and the Land in Between,” by Hisham Matar

Finalists: “In the Darkroom,” by Susan Faludi; “When Breath Becomes Air,” by Paul Kalanithi


Winner: “Olio,” by Tyehimba Jess

Finalists: “Collected Poems: 1950-2012,” by Adrienne Rich; “XX,” by Campbell McGrath

General Nonfiction

Winner: “Evicted: Poverty and Profit in the American City,” by Matthew Desmond

Finalists: “In a Different Key: The Story of Autism,” by John Donvan and Caren Zucker; “The Politics of Mourning: Death and Honor in Arlington National Cemetery,” by Micki McElya


Winner: “Angel’s Bone,” by Du Yun

Finalists: “Bound to the Bow,” by Ashley Fure; “Ipsa Dixit,” by Kate Soper