The Washington Post

Passport: Yes or No?

No passport,
no problem?

Americans planning to visit lands with ties to the United States can go far on the humblest of IDs. Many of them require no passport and accept such proof of citizenship as a driver’s license or a birth certificate. Here’s a list of U.S.-affliated destinations and their entry requirements.

American Samoa and Swains Island: No passport required

Guam: No passport required

Puerto Rico: No passport required

Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands (Saipan, Rota, Tinian): No passport required

U.S. Virgin Islands (St. Thomas, St. Croix and St. John): No passport required

Marshall Islands: Passport required

Palau: Passport required

Federated States of Micronesia: Passport required

Show Comments
Most Read



Success! Check your inbox for details.

See all newsletters

Close video player
Now Playing

To keep reading, please enter your email address.

You’ll also receive from The Washington Post:
  • A free 6-week digital subscription
  • Our daily newsletter in your inbox

Please enter a valid email address

I have read and agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.

Please indicate agreement.

Thank you.

Check your inbox. We’ve sent an email explaining how to set up an account and activate your free digital subscription.