A new law raises the minimum age for getting married in Virginia to 18. (iStock)

The start of a new fiscal year means new taxes, programs and penalties in the District, Maryland and Virginia that will impact everyone from smokers to college-age voters to gun owners to those on Virginia’s death row.

The minimum wage will increase from $10.50 an hour to $11.50 an hour in the District; from $9.55 an hour to $10.75 an hour in Montgomery County; and from $8.25 to $8.75 throughout Maryland.

Here are some of the other laws taking effect July 1:

Virginia

There are changes in gun, marriage and execution laws in the commonwealth as well as new penalties for opening a car door without checking for oncoming traffic and for smoking in a car if a child is present.

Marriage age: A new law raises the minimum marriage age for both parties to 18. The law removes exceptions that allowed 16-year-olds to marry if their parents approved and allowed individuals younger than 16 to marry in the case of a pregnancy and with parental consent. Minors now will have to petition the juvenile and domestic relations district court for emancipation to get married if they are younger than 18.

Maryland’s gas tax increases nine-tenths of a cent as of Friday. (iStock)

Death penalty: Virginia can hire pharmacies to secretly supply the state with execution drugs, joining Arkansas, Missouri and Ohio in shielding such providers from political pressure and public scrutiny.

The drugs have become hard to obtain amid a European export ban and public pressure on U.S. pharmaceutical companies not to supply them.

‘Dooring’: A new law imposes a $50 fine on a driver who opens a vehicle door on the side of passing traffic without checking to see that it was “reasonably safe to do so.”

Smoking: In a sign of the times, a new law in the once-mighty tobacco state makes it illegal to smoke cigarettes in a car carrying a child younger than 8 years old. Adults who light up could face a $100 fine.

Gun laws: Starting Friday, individuals under two-year protection-from-abuse orders must relinquish their guns to a third party. At the same time, Virginia must recognize the right to carry concealed arms for visitors from nearly all states that issue concealed handgun permits, and Virginians with a permit should be able to carry weapons in those states. The new laws are part of a compromise struck between Gov. Terry McAuliffe (D) and the Republican-controlled General Assembly.

Maryland

In Maryland, the start of the fiscal year will bring an increase in the gas tax, a decrease in the cost of birth and death certificates, a new tax break for people with college debt and new options for easily registering to vote.

Taxes: This tax will jump to 33.5 cents per gallon, an increase of nine-tenths of a cent. The gas tax has gone up 10 cents a gallon since 2013, when lawmakers voted to adjust the rate to keep up with inflation. The cap on Maryland’s yacht tax will increase from $15,000 to $15,100, the first of several planned annual increases.

The District has approved raising the minimum hourly wage to $15. Here's how the measure will be implemented. (Claritza Jimenez/The Washington Post)

Lower fees: The cost to get copies of a birth or death certificates will fall from $24 to $10, one of 34 fee reductions Gov. Larry Hogan (R) proposed to the General Assembly this year. The legislature approved eight of them.

Hogan announced in May that he would use his executive authority to unilaterally reduce dozens of state fees by $60 million over the next five years. Last year, he reduced more than 100 state fees totaling $50 million.

College students: Public colleges and universities must add a voter-registration link on the home pages of their course-registration sites. The links will take users to the state’s online voter-registration system.

Students who owe $250 or less to public colleges and universities will no longer be barred from registering for classes. The state also is establishing a tax credit of up to $5,000 for undergraduate student-loan debt.

Pesticides and fracking: Montgomery County can no longer use cosmetic pesticides on lawns on county-owned properties. A ban on using the products for private lawns will take effect in January 2018.

In Prince George’s County, a ban on hydraulic fracturing, or fracking, begins Friday. The county is the first jurisdiction in Maryland to prohibit the practice.

Arelis R. Hernández, Fenit Nirappil and Bill Turque contributed to this report.