The D.C. Council on Wednesday confirmed two Gray administration nominees to the D.C. Public Charter School Board, which is responsible for authorizing new charter schools and closing poor performers.

The new board members are former charter school leader Barbara B. Nophlin and retired Army colonel Herb Tillery, who now oversees a college scholarship program.

Nophlin fills a vacancy on the seven-member board left when former member William Marshall stepped down in 2011. Tillery is replacing outgoing board member Brian Jones.

The council also confirmed the reappointment of current board member Sara Mead, a policy analyst with particular expertise in early childhood education.