The Fairfax County school board Thursday elected Tamara Derenak Kaufax as the new chair of the board and Ted Velkoff to serve as the new vice chair.

Kaufax (Lee), who was currently serving as vice chair, will succeed Ilryong Moon (At Large), who completed two consecutive one-year terms leading the board.

Besides her duties as vice chair, Kaufax had previously served as chair of the public engagement committee. Before joining the school board in 2012, Kaufax was a member of the Fairfax County childcare advisory council, the school board’s advanced academic programs advisory committee and the Lee district’s budget advisory council.

Velkoff, who also joined the board for the first time in 2012, served as chair of the school board’s budget committee during negotiations for FY 2015 and vice chair for FY 2014. Before his election to the board, Velkoff served as president and treasurer of the Chantilly High School PTSA.