The Washington Post

Fairfax School Board taps Moon as chair, Hynes as vice chair

The Fairfax County School Board chose new leaders Thursday, tapping a veteran member and a relative newcomer to shepherd the region’s largest school system during the coming year.

Ilryong Moon (At Large), the outgoing vice chairman who has served a dozen years on the board, replaced Jane K. Strauss (Dranesville) as chairman. Moon previously led the board in 2006.

Pat Hynes (Hunter Mill), a former Fairfax teacher and lawyer who took office in January, became vice chairwoman.

The two will lead their colleagues in searching for and hiring a superintendent, one of the more critical and far-reaching decisions a school board can make. Current schools chief Jack D. Dale will retire in June 2013.

Strauss initially ran for reelection as chairman Thursday, but withdrew her name from contention after tying Daniel G. Storck (Mount Vernon) — another veteran member who has served since 2004 — in a six-six vote.

Hynes then nominated Moon, who narrowly prevailed against Storck. Ryan McElveen (At Large) said he had looked to both men for guidance, but Moon had been “the utmost mentor.”

Besides McElveen and Moon, others voting in Moon’s favor were Strauss, Hynes, Kathy Smith (Sully), Tamara Derenak Kaufax (Lee) and Ted Velkoff (At Large).

Emma Brown writes about national education and about people with a stake in schools, including teachers, parents and kids.

The Freddie Gray case

Please provide a valid email address.

You’re all set!

Campaign 2016 Email Updates

Please provide a valid email address.

You’re all set!

Get Zika news by email

Please provide a valid email address.

You’re all set!
Show Comments

To keep reading, please enter your email address.

You’ll also receive from The Washington Post:
  • A free 6-week digital subscription
  • Our daily newsletter in your inbox

Please enter a valid email address

I have read and agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.

Please indicate agreement.

Thank you.

Check your inbox. We’ve sent an email explaining how to set up an account and activate your free digital subscription.