Nathaniel Provencio, 2017 Washington Post Principal of the Year, speaks with students as the wait in line for breakfast at Minnieville Elementary School on Thursday, April 6, 2017 in Woodbridge, Virginia. (Pete Marovich/For The Washington Post)

There are many dedicated and outstanding educators in the Washington region’s schools. Here are the 2017 finalists for Washington Post Teacher of the Year and Washington Post Principal of the Year.

Each of the finalists was chosen by the respective local school system, the D.C. Public Charter School Board or a panel of educators and community leaders with expertise in the private school community.

The two winners were chosen by a selection committee of individuals who represent teachers, administrators and parents. The winners each receive a $7,500 prize.

Finalists for 2017 Washington Post Principal of the Year Award

Peter Balas: Mount Vernon Community School, Alexandria City

Jean Marie Hofstetter: Davidsonville Elementary School, Anne Arundel County

Bridget Loft: Swanson Middle School, Arlington County

Zachary Seawell: Calvert Middle School, Calvert County

Wilhelmina S. Pugh: Malcolm Elementary School, Charles County

Anna Hickman: Ingenuity Prep, D.C. Public Charter School

Renee Miller: Keene Mill Elementary School, Fairfax County

Troy Todd: Running Brook Elementary School, Howard County

John G. Gabriel: John Champe High School, Loudoun County

Jennifer Lowndes: Rock Creek Forest Elementary, Montgomery County

Denise Dunn: Ridgecrest Elementary School, Prince George’s County

Nathaniel Provencio (winner): Minnieville Elementary School, Prince William County

Jennifer Gilman: Hollywood Elementary School, St. Mary’s County

Andrew Grider: Rodney E. Thompson Middle School, Stafford County

Finalists for 2017 Washington Post Teacher of the Year Award

Laura Koss: Matthew Maury Elementary School, Alexandria City

Sharon Mattoon: Solley Elementary School, Anne Arundel County

Michelle Cottrell-Williams: Wakefield High School, Arlington County

Devin Page: Northern Middle School, Calvert County

Kelly Lundeen: Dr. James Craik Elementary School, Charles County

Tara Allen: Thurgood Marshall Academy, D.C. Public Charter School

Angela Ammerman: Annandale High School, Fairfax County

Lisa Allan: Thomas Jefferson Elementary School, Falls Church

Kim Matthias: Cedar Lee Middle School, Fauquier County

Kelli Betts Smith: Centerville Elementary School, Frederick County

Quillian Haralson: Georgetown Visitation Preparatory School, D.C. private school

Maddy Halbach: Applications and Research Laboratory, Howard County

Kathleen Thompson: Stone Bridge High School, Loudoun County

Amy Keen: Jennie Dean Elementary School, Manassas City

Carrie Reardon: Manassas Park Middle School, Manassas Park

Sean Pang (winner): Rockville High School, Montgomery County

Maria Wood: William W. Hall Academy, Prince George’s County

Rebecca Kronthal: Martin Luther King Elementary School, Prince William County

Mary Jane Selph: Dr. James A. Forrest Career and Technology Center, St. Mary’s County

Nicole Sutton: Kate Waller Barrett Elementary School, Stafford County

Dawn Harding: Washington Episcopal School, Bethesda private school

(A previous version of this list incorrectly identified the private school where Quillian Haralson teaches. It is Georgetown Visitation Preparatory School, not Georgetown Preparatory School. This list has been updated.)

— Washington Post staff