Months after launching the “innovation schools” network, Montgomery County on Tuesday announced the 10 schools that will be part of a companion intervention effort.

Schools in the interventions network will work with the central office to come up with plans to improve teaching and learning for struggling students.

The 10 schools in the interventions network are: College Gardens, Damascus, Dr. Charles R. Drew, Meadow Hall, Twinbrook, Waters Landing and Whetstone elementary schools; Benjamin Banneker and Neelsville middle schools; and John L. Gildner Regional Institute for Children and Adolescents (RICA).

Staff at the schools will get extensive training and support to help improve student performance and narrow achievement gaps. The network also will be the first in the district to monitor first-grade students for signs that students are at risk of dropping out — watching attendance, behavior and class work.

The intervention schools are different from the innovation schools Superintendent Joshua P. Starr announced in May. The innovation schools will receive intense one-on-one attention from district administrators to come up with novel approaches to improve outcomes for students. The intervention schools focus more urgently on individual case management for students.