D.C. public schools announced this week that eight new principals graduated from a fellowship program the school system designed to create an internal pipeline for leaders.

The rising principals are the first graduates of the Mary Jane Patterson Fellowship, which provides 18 months of training and mentoring for promising D.C. schools employees who want to become principals.

“DCPS is filled with hard-working, focused, driven and passionate educators, many of whom we know would make great principals given the right training and support,” said DCPS Chancellor Kaya Henderson in a news statement. “To capitalize on this pool of talent, we began a new fellowship to target and build the leadership skills of future school leaders and to keep them in D.C., serving DCPS students.”

The fellowship is open to employees, including teachers, administrators and instructional coaches, who have strong instructional expertise and an ability to analyze data to help teachers work with individual students, among other leadership qualities.

Fellows work with leadership coaches and professors from Georgetown University’s McDonough School of Business. They serve as “resident principals” for a year in two different schools, working alongside high-performing mentor principals.

The fellowship was named for the person who is considered to be the first African American woman to earn a bachelors degree. Mary Jane Patterson graduated from Oberlin College in 1862 and went on to become principal at Dunbar High School, which was the first public high school in the country to serve African American students.

The eight new principals and their schools are:

●Eric Bethel – Turner Elementary School

●Lloyd Bryant – Anacostia High School

●Charlette Butler – Hart Middle School

●Donyale Butler – Savoy Elementary School

●Heather Hairston – C.W. Harris Elementary School

●Katie Larkin – H.D. Cooke Elementary School

●Katie Lundgren – Marie Reed Elementary School

●Jennifer Thomas – Hearst Elementary School

The school district also announced 13 new principals who were hired internally and through a national search:

●Debra Bell – Ludlow-Taylor Elementary School

●Carrie Broquard – Lafayette Elementary School

●Mayra Canizales – Oyster-Adams Bilingual School

●La’Mont Geddis – Malcolm X Elementary School

●Jennifer Jo Huff – Plummer Elementary School

●Carolyn Jackson-King – Orr Elementary School

●Kemi Husbands – Langdon Education Campus

●Elizabeth Namba – Hyde-Addison Elementary School

●John Payne – Duke Ellington School of the Arts

●Yetunde Reeves – Ballou High School

●Kim Spence – Simon Elementary School

●Gary Washington – C.H.O.I.C.E. Academy

●Eugenia Young – Roosevelt STAY