The Washington Post

Post announces teacher, principal awards

●Sarah Kiyak, T.C. Williams High School (Alexandria)

●Sarah Jester, Northeast High School (Anne Arundel County)

●Laurell Wiersma, Wakefield High School (Arlington County)

●Jon VanDeventer, Patuxent High School (Calvert County)

●David Bradshaw, Maurice J. McDonough High School (Charles County)

●Julian Hipkins III, Capital City Public Charter School-Upper School (D.C.)

●Arnita Meekins, Tubman Elementary School (D.C.)

●Charles Sabatier, Mount Vernon High School (Fairfax County)

●Karin Tooze, George Mason High School (Falls Church)

●George Murphy, Fauquier High School (Fauquier County)

●Deborah Jean Moore Winkles, Urbana High School (Frederick County)

●Lisa Young, Atholton Elementary School (Howard County)

●Andrea Schlegel, Heritage High School (Loudoun County)

●Francie Vandivere, R.C. Haydon Elementary School (Manassas)

●Dawn Woolley, Cougar Elementary School (Manassas Park)

●Carrie Vieira, Rockville High School (Montgomery County)

●Walter Harley, Oxon Hill High School (Prince George’s County)

●Lydia Stewart, Osbourn Park High School (Prince William County)

●Raymond Nighan, St. John’s College High School (private school)

●Elizabeth Dyson, Great Mills High School (St. Mary’s County)

●Nicholas Martino, Mountain View High School (Stafford County)

The winning principals are:

●Frances Nussle, Linthicum Elementary School (Anne Arundel County)

●Lisa Piehota, Patrick Henry Elementary School (Arlington County)

●Sylvia Lawson, Northern High School (Calvert County)

●Thomas Weirich, Robert D. Stethem Educational Center (Charles County)

●Michelle Molitor, E.L. Haynes Public Charter School (D.C.)

●Liz Whisnant, Mann Elementary School (D.C.)

●Robyn Cochran, Dogwood Elementary School (Fairfax County)

●Patricia Comstock, P.B. Smith Elementary School (Fauquier County)

●Debra Myers, Thurmont Primary School (Frederick County)

●Marcia Leonard, Hammond High School (Howard County)

●James Dallas, Cedar Lane Elementary School (Loudoun County)

●Ashley Cramp, Baldwin Elementary School (Manassas)

●Jeanette Dixon, Paint Branch High School (Montgomery County)

●Dierdra Tramel, Frances Fuchs ECC (Prince George’s County)

●Amy Ethridge-Conti, Battlefield High School (Prince William County)

●Joan Mele-McCarthy, The Summit School (private school)

●Lisa Bachner, Leonardtown Middle School (St. Mary’s County)

●William Boatwright, A.G. Wright Middle School (Stafford County)

The Washington Post is announcing Monday the winners of awards given to top teachers and principals from the region’s schools. Those honored with the Agnes Meyer Outstanding Teacher Award and the Distinguished Educational Leadership Award were chosen by participating school systems — or, in the case of private schools, a committee assembled by The Post. The winning teachers, who each receive $3,000, are:

The Freddie Gray case

Please provide a valid email address.

You’re all set!

Campaign 2016 Email Updates

Please provide a valid email address.

You’re all set!
Show Comments
Most Read



Success! Check your inbox for details.

See all newsletters

Close video player
Now Playing

To keep reading, please enter your email address.

You’ll also receive from The Washington Post:
  • A free 6-week digital subscription
  • Our daily newsletter in your inbox

Please enter a valid email address

I have read and agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.

Please indicate agreement.

Thank you.

Check your inbox. We’ve sent an email explaining how to set up an account and activate your free digital subscription.